
 
 

AMENDMENT TO THE REGULATIONS OF THE COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION 

 Pursuant to sections 207, 6504, 6507, 6801-a and 6827 of the Education Law 

and Chapter 21 of the Laws of 2011.   

1. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of section 63.7 of the 

Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended, effective September 14, 

2011, as follows: 

(i) [Exemptions. The following licensees shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements, as prescribed in subdivision (c) of this section:  

(a) licensees for the triennial registration period during which they are first 

licensed to practice pharmacy in New York State, exclusive of those first licensed to 

practice pharmacy in New York State pursuant to an endorsement of a license of 

another jurisdiction; 

(b) licensees whose first registration date following January 1, 1997 occurs prior 

to January 1, 1998, for periods prior to such registration date; and 

(c) licensees] Exemption. Licensees who are not engaged in the practice of 

pharmacy, as evidenced by not being registered to practice in New York State, shall be 

exempt from the continuing education requirements, as prescribed in subdivision (c) of 

this section, except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c)(2) of this section to meet the 

education requirements for the resumption of practice after a lapse in practice for a 

licensee who has not lawfully practiced continuously in another jurisdiction throughout 

such lapse period. 

2.  Paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of section 63.7 of the Regulations of the 

Commissioner of Education is amended, effective September 14, 2011, as follows: 

(1) During each triennial registration period, meaning a registration period of 

three years' duration, an applicant for registration shall complete at least 45 hours of 



 
 

formal continuing education acceptable to the department, as defined in paragraph (4) 

of this subdivision, provided that no more than 22 hours of such continuing education 

shall consist of self-study courses. During registration periods beginning on or after 

September 1, 2003, a licensee shall complete as part of the 45 hours of formal 

continuing education, or pro-ration thereof, at least three hours of formal continuing 

education acceptable to the department in the processes and strategies that may be 

used to reduce medication and/or prescription errors. Any licensee participating in 

collaborative drug therapy management pursuant to Education Law section 6801-a, 

shall complete as part of the 45 hours of formal continuing education, or pro-ration 

thereof, at least five hours of formal continuing education acceptable to the department 

in the area or areas of practice generally related to any collaborative drug therapy 

management protocols to which the pharmacist may be subject, provided that such 

continuing education shall not be completed as self-study. [Any licensed pharmacist 

whose first registration date following January 1, 1997 occurs less than three years from 

that date, but on or after January 1, 1998, shall complete continuing education hours on 

a prorated basis at the rate of one and one-quarter hours of acceptable formal 

continuing education per month for the period beginning January 1, 1997 up to the first 

registration date thereafter. Such continuing education shall be completed during the 

period beginning January 1, 1997 and ending before the first day of the new registration 

period or at the option of the licensee during any time in the previous registration 

period.] 

3. Section 63.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is added, 

effective September 14, 2011, to read as follows: 



 
 

§63.10 Collaborative drug therapy management.  

 (a)  Applicability.  This section shall apply only to the extent that the applicable 

provisions in Education Law sections 6801 and 6801-a, authorizing certain pharmacists 

to participate in collaborative drug therapy management, have not expired or been 

repealed.   

(b)  Experience requirement for participating pharmacists. 

(1)  As used in Education Law section 6801-a(2)(b), a year of experience shall 

mean not less than 1,680 hours of work as a pharmacist within a period of one calendar 

year. 

(2) In order to be counted as a year of experience that includes clinical 

experience in a health facility, such experience shall include, on average, not less than 

15 hours per week of clinical experience which involves consultation with physicians 

with respect to drug therapy, as determined by the facility that employs or is affiliated 

with the pharmacist.  
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