AMENDMENT TO THE REGULATIONS OF THE COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION


Pursuant to sections 207, 6504, 6507, 6801-a and 6827 of the Education Law and Chapter 21 of the Laws of 2011.  

1. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of section 63.7 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended, effective January 4, 2012, as follows:

(i) [Exemptions. The following licensees shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements, as prescribed in subdivision (c) of this section: 

(a) licensees for the triennial registration period during which they are first licensed to practice pharmacy in New York State, exclusive of those first licensed to practice pharmacy in New York State pursuant to an endorsement of a license of another jurisdiction;

(b) licensees whose first registration date following January 1, 1997 occurs prior to January 1, 1998, for periods prior to such registration date; and

(c) licensees] Exemption. Licensees who are not engaged in the practice of pharmacy, as evidenced by not being registered to practice in New York State, shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements, as prescribed in subdivision (c) of this section, except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c)(2) of this section to meet the education requirements for the resumption of practice after a lapse in practice for a licensee who has not lawfully practiced continuously in another jurisdiction throughout such lapse period.
2.  Paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of section 63.7 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended, effective January 4, 2012, as follows:

(1) During each triennial registration period, meaning a registration period of three years' duration, an applicant for registration shall complete at least 45 hours of formal continuing education acceptable to the department, as defined in paragraph (4) of this subdivision, provided that no more than 22 hours of such continuing education shall consist of self-study courses. During registration periods beginning on or after September 1, 2003, a licensee shall complete as part of the 45 hours of formal continuing education, or pro-ration thereof, at least three hours of formal continuing education acceptable to the department in the processes and strategies that may be used to reduce medication and/or prescription errors. Any licensee participating in collaborative drug therapy management pursuant to Education Law section 6801-a, shall complete as part of the 45 hours of formal continuing education, or pro-ration thereof, at least five hours of formal continuing education acceptable to the department in the area or areas of practice generally related to any collaborative drug therapy management protocols to which the pharmacist may be subject, provided that such continuing education shall not be completed as self-study. [Any licensed pharmacist whose first registration date following January 1, 1997 occurs less than three years from that date, but on or after January 1, 1998, shall complete continuing education hours on a prorated basis at the rate of one and one-quarter hours of acceptable formal continuing education per month for the period beginning January 1, 1997 up to the first registration date thereafter. Such continuing education shall be completed during the period beginning January 1, 1997 and ending before the first day of the new registration period or at the option of the licensee during any time in the previous registration period.]
3. Section 63.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is added, effective January 4, 2012, to read as follows:

§63.10 Collaborative drug therapy management. 


(a)  Applicability.  This section shall apply only to the extent that the applicable provisions in Education Law sections 6801 and 6801-a, authorizing certain pharmacists to participate in collaborative drug therapy management, have not expired or been repealed.  

(b)  Experience requirement for participating pharmacists.

(1)  As used in Education Law section 6801-a(2)(b), a year of experience shall mean not less than 1,680 hours of work as a pharmacist within a period of one calendar year.

(2) In order to be counted as a year of experience that includes clinical experience in a health facility, such experience shall include, on average, not less than 15 hours per week of clinical experience which involves consultation with physicians with respect to drug therapy, as determined by the facility that employs or is affiliated with the pharmacist. 

